Help training!

Doxiemommy

Hi! I have a 3 month old named macy. I am having the hardest time training her. She will not let me Know when She has to potty. Sometimes she will sniff around and I know to take her out other times she just goes (couch, bed) she also will not use puppy pads she eats them :confused: Please if any one knows anything I can do please help. she goes out every 4-5 hours which is Perfect for her otherwise she won't go at all also she will our on her blankets in her kennel and then sleeps in them :( I'm very new to this never had a doxie let alone a dog

Nell

Training

Hi, training takes time and is a full time job! lol! You need to get on this fast as the longer she is unclean the harder it will be to correct. I would suggest you take her out every 20mins to start with, as soon as she pees pick her up make a big fuss and bring her in, that way she will learn why she has been taken out. She may not go every time to begin with but try to be patient if you take her out and say in encouraging voice "go wee" each time she will learn to go when you ask, my six month goes on command!. If she doesn't go after ten minutes just bring her in and go out again in another ten minutes. If she does wee then leave it first for 20 min and slowly stretch it to every two hours. Now as for the items she has weed on these need to be got rid of or boil washed, even if you cant smell it she can and she will continue to pee where she has before. If she does go in doors make it plain you are not happy, please don't hit her - she is a baby, I use "growling" voice - "BAD GIRL YUK!" puppies naturally want to please, remember lots of fuss when she goes outdoors she will soon get the hang of it. This will all mean you are going to be fairly tied over a couple of days and following her like a hawk! but trust me it is so worth it in the long run and she will soon cotton on, consistency is the trick! Good luck.

Last edited:

Doxiemommy