Breeding F choc/cream dapple

teamscon

Breeding color ? choc&cream dapple F

Hi! So, I knew someone awhile back that had a whole pack of dachshunds. I fell in love with them. I'm an Iraq veteran and find that the dachshund is the perfect dog for me. Funny, brave, calm when need be, alert and assertive.

I finally found a AKC breeder that I trusted Home is the best I could find in my area that were expecting pups.

Her bottom coat is cream, and top coat is chocolate. Her feet are lighter brown with brown nose, cream n choc dapple tail. Her eyes are blue.
Her face is mostly cream with chocolate small dark chocolate spots.

I plan to breed her 1-2 times to let her experience being a mom, me experience having small pups, and to return some of my investment honestly. She was 600.00 but well worth it being AKC registered and just a great dog. I know what I paid for.

Question:
Which color dachshund should I search to breed her with to obtain long hair cream/blue, blue/silver? I would love for most of them to have some variation of blue in them.

Her dad is Chocolate and tan
Her mom is Chocolate and tan dapple

Her blood line:
She carries a lot of blue it looks like. Atleast 2-3 of her family tree have blue in them (Not the mom or dad though.)

Thanks in advance hope to hear back soon :D

Last edited:

Penny

Be sure that the male is not a dapple. Dapple to dapple breeding results in double dapple puppies that can be blind, missing eyes or poorly developed eyes, and deaf.

I think you should work with her breeder to pick the right stud for her, that works best for her conformation.

teamscon

Thanks for the quick reply!

I asked her breeder this and she told me the same thing. Do not breed her with another dapple. She said it can have a TAD of dapple but not much at all. I even asked if the breeder would stud one of her dogs and she didn't answer. I'm unsure why, but she doesn't seem to want to give any other info then dont breed with another dapple.