Puppy Comes Home Tomorrow!

love'laska

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking on the forum ever since I put my deposit down on a mini red-colored short-haired dachshund (about a month ago)! I figured that since the puppy comes home tomorrow that it was time to introduce myself.

My name is Emily and I'm a 19-year-old sophomore in university in Chicago, IL. Growing up, I always was surrounded by animals. Since moving to college, this is the fist time in my life I haven't had a pet. I've never owned a dachshund before, but my uncle had 4 of them when I was younger, so I'm used to being around them.

I've been thinking about getting a dachshund for ages now, and originally was going to get my first pup next summer, but I recently was diagnosed with anxiety disorder and PTSD and my therapist believed getting a dog now would be very beneficial to me. My puppy is coming home as an emotional support animal and this morning I got verification that she has been registered with my university to live with me in the dormitories, which are typically no-pets.

I'm driving about six hours tomorrow morning to pick up my pup, and then we're driving to Michigan to spend time with my folks for a week before I move back on campus. I've been preparing for her to come home for quite a while now and have two toy boxes full of dog supplies (one for toys and one for food/health/grooming/cleaning/training products), as well as a small wire crate, a small travel crate, an x-pen, and a dog bed. I also have two sets of collars, harnesses, and leads.