Need some help with color of new puppy

missjess10475

I'm a newbie here. I'm getting our new mini dachshund next week and have been very excited. Until yesterday. I'm fairly confident the woman I'm getting him from said he's a double dapple. I'm not postive though, so I'm not quoting her. Anyhow, I was looking up doubles yesterday just to look at the different colorings of them. I found quite a few articles online about them and how they have a very high rate of blindness and/or deafness due to the double recessive gene. (Hope I remembered that right)
I figured I'd post a couple pictures and see if anyone here knows if he is a double. If anyone knows more about this subject? Any information would be helpful. I'm so excited for this little guy. I just want to know what to be prepared for.

Attachments

Steph

He looks like a double dapple. Do you have pictures of his parents?

Dapple is not a recessive gene, it is a dominant gene meaning that one parent must be a dapple to produce a dapple. To mix 2 dapple genes is known as lethal breeding because of the higher rates of blind/deaf/deformed/internal abnormalities sometimes even unexpected deaths of the puppies. In the dachshund world it is frowned upon to breed for double dapples and considered irresponsible breeding because of the risks to the puppies and sometimes even the mother.

A friend of mine once said when we were discussing double dapples or DDs that "It is like playing Russian Roulette with a puppy's life because you never know where the bullet is" she means you never know if you're going to get a healthy puppy or an unhealthy puppy.

The Double Dapple - DORG - The Dachshund Magazine On-Line!

Penny

The color is black and tan, the pattern is double dapple.