Male VS Female?

Driven

Hi, I am new to the dachshund breed. I have been around them in the past, but don't know a ton about them apart from the research I have done. I am looking for a mini puppy right now and want to know your experienced opinions on males vs females. What are some key differences between the 2 genders? And if you like one gender more than the other, why?

I need a mini dachshund that will be easy to take places with me because I want to bring him/her almost everywhere with me so that is very important. I read and heard that females are not as outgoing as males are because they are more protective of their owners so they don't like strangers because of this. And I read that males are more demanding of attention and will test your roll as leader more often.

How true have you found these things to be? Please only reply if you have experience with both genders. Thank you!

Hi there! Choosing between Male and Female is kind of tricky, because every dog has his/her own personality so you can't guarantee anything based on sex. In my opinion, the difference in the two sexes is most noticed when they get older. Females tend to 'mature' faster, while Males will usually always act a little 'puppy-like' even when they are old men! My current Dachshund, Biggie, is a male and he can be a little protective of me at times. But because I socialized him with other dogs and people from a young age, he very rarely gets that way. The same goes for female dogs. If you train them well and from a young age, you shouldn't have to worry too much about them feeling the need to 'guard' you, and since you mentioned you want to take your baby everywhere with you the socialization is even more important.

Another thing I have noticed is that males are a lot more cuddly while females are more aloof.

(I gotta say it again sorry!- All dogs have their own personality, so don't take all of this too literally.) Good Luck with the future pup!

Hunter's Parade