New to Dachshunds and forum

Starfish1987

Hi, my name is Lisa and I just joined because I am going to be the new mommy to a Dachshund puppy on May 28th. I joined because not only am I new to the breed, I am new to puppies altogether. My boyfriend has had a Dachshund puppy before, so he is here to help me. I just felt the need to join a forum on all you veteran owners for experienced advice. My little girl, Daenarys will be 6 weeks when we get her. I am an avid animal lover, so any advice on the best for my little girl will be appreciated!

Starfish1987

In more detail, I'm wanting to know the best puppy food, toys, beds, and just overall care for my little one. My boyfriend and I both work for a chain of convenience stores called QuikTrip(those who live in the areas of it know it well) and with our schedules, the only two days our little girl won't be with us is Sunday and Monday evening. We plan on gating her in our kitchen/bathroom area(tiled) with puppy pads and when we are asleep we have an ajoined bathroom(tiled) to our bedroom where we will put puppy pads there for her and will leave her access to us in bed, which also has steps for her. I want to avoid kenneling her as much as possible, at least until she is fully outside potty trained. So, like I have said, any stories of experience would be much appreciated.

sbarne3

Hi Lisa. I just have a couple of thoughts/suggestions for you.
You said that you want to avoid kenneling her as much as possible. I am assuming that you mean you don't want to leave her in the crate, correct?
I suggest reading the information at this link (Useful Information).
It is on a Schnauzer website, but the information applies to all breeds. In addition to general care of a puppy it explains how the puppies see the crate as a good thing (it makes them feel safe).