brand new dachshund owner looking for advice!

Hello! I stumbled across this forum today while searching for some info. My name is Tara and my husband and I adopted a 2 year old dachshund last Thursday. I work as a vet tech at a clinic that also has an adoption center that adopts out dogs and cats. Well we had a client surrender this little wiener dog last week and she stole my heart! She is real sweet but very unsocialized and terrified of everything. She's basically lived most of her life in a crate and isn't potty trained very well. The first few nights were kinda rough because since she isn't potty trained she has to sleep in a crate and stay in it again while were at work from about 8-2. I won't lie she much prefers to be out with us, and howled and barked for quite a while the first couple nights we put her to bed in it. So last night I gave in and left her out while we slept and ended up teaching myself a lesson when I woke up to a pee soaked couch cusion and blanket this morning. Tonight I gave her a radio next to her crate and she went to bed without a fuss (success!!!). But the problem were having is she is stubborn about going potty and sometimes (like tonight) refuses to go even though we took her out twice before bed. I'm worried about making her hold her bladder all night but feel like she isn't really taking advantage of her potty opportunities. I'm really hoping someone can offer some advice or tips on potty training as I'm at a loss! Also, here's a pic of her cute self to complete the intro! My hubby named her Duchess <3

the other thing I forgot to mention is we are having trouble getting her to eat her food. We got her iams mini chunks and the Dr at work suggested mixing it with a little canned chicken which worked one time and now she picks the chicken out and leaves the dog food! ???? >_<

Steph

Welcome!
What a cute little girl! How old is she?